2014201520162017201820192020 • ANNUAL REPORT Amarillo Area FoundationAMARILLO AREA FOUNDATION


Dear Foundation Members:

THE INVESTMENT COMMITTEE, under the authority of the Board of Directors, has set as its primary objective achieving respectable long-term total return while managing volatility through prudent diversification. The Foundation’s assets are held primarily in the custody of the Bank of New York Mellon and are invested under the direction of professional investment managers based on parameters set forth in the statement of investment policy and guidelines.

During 2014, the Foundation investment portfolio produced a total return of approximately 1.9%. We continue to seek strategies to protect our portfolio from the simultaneous possibilities of deflation and rampant inflation as well as volatile market swings in both directions. We remain committed to the support of donor philanthropy and current charitable needs. During 2014, total combined grants and distributions approved from all funds administered by the Amarillo Area Foundation and its public supporting organization, The Don and Sybil Harrington Foundation, amounted to $8,421,120. By adhering to investment policies and practices designed to produce consistent growth, coupled with prudent spending, the Foundation Board of Directors and Investment Committee seek to create and maintain a robust portfolio to support a perpetual flow of philanthropic resources to enhance the quality of life in the Texas Panhandle.

Jason Herrick


Unrestricted Contributions    $506,108
Memberships    $129,724
In-kind Contributions    $636
Sponsorships    $7,500
Donor Advised Contributions    $4,767,920
Community Fund Contributions    $130,612
Scholarship Contributions    $1,128,621
ACE Contributions    $919,975
Endowment Contributions    $3,846,069


Agency  $265,193
Donor Advised  $1,992,645
Donor Designated  $1,246,633
Field of Interest  $1,821,516
Scholarship  $243,733
ACE  $694,386
HF Designated Beneficiary  $300,000
AAF Grants  $571,809
HF Grants  $1,336,310


AAF Members: HF Members:
Salem Abraham Wales Madden, Jr.
Terry Caviness Alice O'Brien
B.A. Donelson Richard Ware
Mike Engler Clay Stribling
Jason Herrick  
Bob LaRoche  
Jerry Miller  
Julie Mitchell  
Dyke Rogers